Dorm to Dorm

By Cort Watanabe

HIS is an interesting place, it has a unique culture and community. It is totally different to a standard school as H.I.S. students come from all over the world. Most people who attend H.I.S. live with their families in Sapporo but, as you know, HIS also has a dorm and every year new students move in and experience not only the HIS school life, but also the HIS dorm life. As someone that has lived in the dorm for over 3 years, I think I lack a fresh view of it. So, I took this chance to find out what it is like to be new in the dorm. I talked to Nick Slone, Andy Yoon, and Haruki Clements, and asked them a few questions, here are some things they said (Q=question A=answer)…

Nick

Q: How do you like the dorm so far?

A: Everyone is nice and I really enjoy being in dorm. I miss my parents but I guess I’m becoming more independent so it’s a good life lesson.

Q: What about the dorm do you like?

A: Having WiFi and playing games in the dorm!!

Q: Do you think you’re HIS experience is different from everyone else’s because you’re in the dorm?

A: yeah I would say so. Like everyone knows the difference between their house and school but for us dormies we pretty much live at school so it’s hard to know the line.

Nick Slone playing games

Andy

Q: So the past few years you have been in dorm 2. Are there any pro’s or Con’s moving to dorm 1?

A: I guess you can say that it’s a blessing and a curse. It’s nice that I can sleep in later because I live at the dorm 1. But, I can’t really be later than the actual time I need to be down just because I live there.

Q: What about the dorm do you think should get better?

A: I guess there are good and bad sides of both dorms 1 and 2. I moved into dorm 1 because it is more convenient for going to school. But, I guess dorm 2 also has some benefits in that it’s closer to the station and the convenience store. Other than that, I think that dorm 1 is great!!

Q: Do you like the people in the dorm?

A: YEAH! I LOVE THEM!

Andy having fun with some Dormies

Haruki

Q: How is the dorm with your brother?

A: It’s really nice. He helps me with work and the people are nice. I do miss my family but my brother is here so I don’t get that homesick.

Q: How was the transition from a Japanese school to an international school?

A: I still have some getting use to, to do. It’s something I have never done but I like trying new thing out and this can be a big step for me and for my growth.

 

As you can see, there are many good things to be said about HIS and HIS dorm. HIS is unique and attending it will give you an experience you can’t get anywhere else. I’m glad that I was able to do this because it made me think back to the days when I was a new student in the dorm.

Leave a Reply

